10 Awesome Books for Father’s Day

Stumped for gift ideas for your dad this Father’s Day? Well, look no further than this list of books every dad will love! From sports memoirs to chilling thrillers, these unique books will have him on the edge of his seat!

 

Cover_Friday Night LightsFriday Night Lights by H.G. Bissinger

While there are many books out there that focus on football, this captivating read perfectly portrays the zealous devotion surrounding a high school football team in Texas. The book’s emotionally gripping examination of the team and its surrounding community was actually made into a popular TV show and movie. The inspiration for these adaptations is worth a read.

 

 

 

 

Cover_All the WayAll the Way: My Life on Ice by Jordin Tootoo

This amazing memoir takes a look at the life of Jordin Tootoo, the first Inuk to play in the National Hockey League. The book explores Jordin’s troubled past and heritage, and his struggle for redemption. One of the best sports books on the market, this formidable story will leave your dad wanting more.

 

 

 

 

Cover_Shoe DogShoe Dog: A Memoir by the Creator of Nike by Phil Knight

Another candid memoir, this one by the Nike founder and board chairman, Shoe Dog looks at the evolution of one of the world’s most iconic brands. Perfect for the enterprising father, this book takes an honest look at the man behind one of the world’s largest companies.

 

 

 

 

Cover_GruntGrunt: The Curious Science of Humans at War by Mary Roach

The latest book by pop science author Mary Roach explores the human psyche and the stress of extreme war zone environments. Through firsthand research, Mary reports on the front lines in a voice that is both humorous and sobering.

 

 

 

 

NORMAL 9780778317777_f79d1Normal by Graeme Cameron

This electrifying book will captivate any dad who loves gritty thrillers. Darkly funny, this novel follows an unnamed killer and his favorite pastime: abducting, killing and dismembering young women.

 

 

 

 

 

Cover_RedshirtsRedshirts by John Scalzi

This novel is perfect for any Trekkie. A tongue-in-cheek satire that will make your dad laugh and rethink a popular genre. It’s even won a Hugo Award for Best Novel!

 

 

 

 

 

Cover_Star WarsStar Wars: The Force Awakens by Alan Dean Foster

Now, if your dad is a Star Wars fan, then this book is a must-read. This movie novelization is surprisingly different from the film, and provides a lot of extra background information. Not only that, but the reader gets new insight into Ben Solo’s treacherous mind. May the Force be with him.

 

 

 

 

Cover_Leviathan WakesLeviathan Wakes by James S. A. Corey

Recently made into a popular TV show, The Expanse, this blockbuster space opera is sure to capture your father’s imagination. Recommended for fans of Leckie, Herbert and Vonnegut who are on the prowl for something new.

 

 

 

 

 

Cover_End of WatchEnd of Watch by Stephen King

No list is complete without a book from the master of horror, Stephen King. This novel is the last in King’s crime trilogy, in which retired detective Bill Hodges hunts the vile Mercedes Killer, a man who drives his victims to suicide. This book will have your father staying up all night.

 

 

 

 

 

Flash Boys pbk mech.inddFlash Boys: A Wall Street Revolt by Michael Lewis

An interesting commentary on the free market system, examining the unethical behavior behind Wall Street. Perfect for the dad who loves business books or crime dramas.

 

 

 

 

 

 

What’s the book you’ll be getting for your dad this Father’s Day? Let us know in the comments below!

    Keely Kundell

    Keely Kundell is an Intern for MIRA and HQN. When she is not reading a good space opera or fantasy novel, she is playing DnD, or Guild Wars 2. She has deep and abiding love for all things Jane Austen. A cat lady to the core she can often be found posting too many photos of her furball on Instagram.

    Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

    Leave a Reply

    XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

    Wait! Before You Leave…

    Sign up to receive the BookClubbish* newsletter, your one-stop hub for book news, recommendations and sweepstakes. Yes! I want to receive newsletters, special offers and other promotional emails from BookClubbish*

    *Harlequin Enterprises Limited (Bookclubbish) is located at Bay Adelaide Centre, East Tower, 22 Adelaide Street West, 41st Floor, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5H 4E3 and sends informational and promotional emails on behalf of itself and Harlequin Digital Sales Corporation. Subscribers can unsubscribe at any time.