What To Read After American Crime Story: The People v. O. J. Simpson

Not long after Making A Murderer captivated the nation, one of this season’s runaway hits on television was the debut of the new American Crime Story (FX’s companion creation to its popular American Horror Story series). Its first season The People v. O. J. Simpson has swept audiences away and back to the tumultuous 90s with the retelling of this highly-publicized and provocative trial. Since its release, the show has garnered tons of critical acclaim and popular buzz—and as much as I love all the great Netflix and HBO-created shows that are dominating the TV world these days, it’s nice to see some underdogs come out blazing from good ol’ basic cable.

Whether you grew up hearing about the case or you were curious about the controversial beginning of the notorious Kardashian clan’s entry into the American lexicon, both those already familiar with the story and newcomers alike have been enthralled and waiting to see the drama play out through its talented cast and writing. As all good things, however, the season will come to an end imminently—the last episode is set to air on April 5th. We at BookClubbish know how hard it can be to let go of a compelling story so here are some reads to get ready for when you have withdrawals from a lack of American Crime Story!

 

Cover_The Run of His LifeThe Run of His Life: The People v. O. J. Simpson by Jeffrey Toobin

Though by the end of the series, you’ll have gotten a fair overview of the case and court trial, if you’re interested in even more in-depth coverage (and, most importantly, a dedicated true account, with less concern for dramatic flair and artistic liberties) Toobin’s book is arguably the go-to.

 

 

 

 

Cover_Guilt By AssociationGuilt by Association by Marcia Clark

Did you know that the lead prosecutor in the Simpson case went on to become a bestselling author? Though that was for her nonfiction book about the trial, she also went on to write the Rachel Knight series, a Los Angeles D.A. who must take on tough cases that have her risking everything in order to find the truth. Hmmm …

She also will be starting a new series this May, so this will be great prep for continued reading!

 

 

 

Cover_A Deadly GameA Deadly Game: The Untold Story of the Scott Peterson Investigation by Catherine Crier

Not ten years after Simpson’s double-murder trial, Scott Peterson came under similar allegations of murdering his wife, Laci, and their unborn son Conner. If high-profile crime cases pique your interest, Catherine Crier’s #1 bestseller is worth picking up.

 

 

 

 

 

Cover_A Time To KillA Time to Kill by John Grisham

Former lawyer and now bestselling author John Grisham wrote this compelling legal thriller (his very first) before he became a household name. In it, young defense attorney Jake Brigance takes on a case against a father charged with murdering his daughters rapists, and what justice really means in the eyes of the law, and in the racially-divided small southern town of Clanton, Mississippi. After reading this emotionally-charged read, you should definitely check out the movie as well!

.

.

.

.

What will you be reading once the season wraps up? True crime? Legal thriller? Let us know in the comments below!

    Gina Shin

    Gina is a Marketing Assistant at MIRA. A west coaster with intense love for beautiful mountains and beaches, few things make her happier than escaping into some natural scenery to unwind. Gina studied both English and Criminology in university, so it should come as no surprise that some of her favorite reads are mysteries and crime fiction. If not with her books, she is most likely playing instruments (usually guitar) and singing obnoxiously or lost in the world of Pinterest with a cup of strong black coffee.

    Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

    Leave a Reply

    XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

    Wait! Before You Leave…

    Sign up to receive the BookClubbish* newsletter, your one-stop hub for book news, recommendations and sweepstakes. Yes! I want to receive newsletters, special offers and other promotional emails from BookClubbish*

    *Harlequin Enterprises Limited (Bookclubbish) is located at 225 Duncan Mill Rd, Don Mills, Ontario Canada M3B 3K9 and sends informational and promotional emails on behalf of itself and Harlequin Digital Sales Corporation. Subscribers can unsubscribe at any time.