Stuck in a Reading Rut? Here’s Your Guide to Trying a New Genre

If you find yourself without anything to read (the horror!), it may be worth while to take a chance and try out a new genre. While we can all agree getting stuck in a reading rut is no fun, getting out of one is. Read on for some great books that will help you test the waters in a new-to-you genre.

The Other Mrs. by Mary Kubica

The Other Mrs. by Mary Kubica

The Other Mrs. is the perfect entry into suspense! If you’ve been a bit nervous to sink your teeth into this genre, now’s a great time because it’s our Read With BookClubbish pick! Having a group of readers along for the ride for all the plot twists will certainly make trying out this genre more enjoyable.

***

Propulsive and addictive, and perfect for fans of “You,” The Other Mrs. is the twisty new psychological thriller from Mary Kubica, the New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl

Available at:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Google Play | Kobo | Apple Books | Indiebound | Audible | Goodreads

Truths I Never Told You by Kelly Rimmer

Truths I Never Told You by Kelly Rimmer

If you’ve never been interested in historical fiction before, try reading a book that alternates between timelines like Truths I Never Told You. Taking place post-WWII and in present day, this story is tied together by themes around family and motherhood. These parallel settings and situations will not disappoint! If you want to try out another genre, here are some other can’t-miss historical fiction titles.

***

From the bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say comes a poignant post-WWII novel that explores the expectations society places on women set within an engrossing family mystery that may unravel everything once believed to be true.

Available at:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Google Play | Kobo | Apple Books | Indiebound | Audible | Goodreads

One Perfect Summer by Brenda Novak

One Perfect Summer by Brenda Novak

Sometimes women’s contemporary fiction gets a bad rep…which is so unfair! We love a good story, regardless of the genre it’s in. One Perfect Summer is a story that will tug at your heartstrings but also make you think. What would you do if you unraveled a big family secret after trying out 23andMe?

***

When Serenity Alston swabbed her cheek for 23andMe, she joked about uncovering some dark ancestral scandal. The last thing she expected was to discover two half sisters she didn’t know existed. Suddenly, everything about her loving family is drawn into question. And meeting these newfound sisters might be the only way to get answers.

Available at:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Google Play | Kobo | Apple Books | Indiebound | Audible | Goodreads

Followers by Megan Angelo

Followers by Megan Angelo

Science fiction can be really intimidating, especially if you’re new to the genre. Followers is a great introduction to it, though, because it plays off our current obsession with social media and what could go wrong if we aren’t careful. Set in 2015 and a dystopian 2051 where Instagram does not exist, it’s sure to keep you glued to the pages.

***

“If anyone is going to explore a future version of our high-tech, internet-obsessed culture, please let it be Megan Angelo. Followers is pure gold.” —Abbi Jacobson, bestselling author and cocreator of Broad City

Available at:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Google Play | Kobo | Apple Books | Indiebound | Goodreads

Broken Faith by Mitch Weiss and Holbrook Mohr

Broken Faith by Mitch Weiss and Holbrook Mohr

If you’ve never been a fan of nonfiction before, you’re missing out on a lot of amazing books! As you’ve heard, truth is stranger than fiction sometimes and Broken Faith is a prime example of that. If you’re already a fan of suspense and thrillers, then picking up this true crime story is a real no-brainer. Looking for more recommendations? Check out these non-fiction reads for fiction readers.

***

“I can’t imagine a more important book.”—Jeff Guinn, New York Times bestselling author

An explosive investigation into Word of Faith Fellowship, a secretive evangelical cult whose charismatic female leader is a master of manipulation

Available at:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Google Play | Kobo | Apple Books | Indiebound | Audible | Goodreads

What genre are you interested in picking up? Let us know in the comments below.

    Katie Didow

    Katie's been a book nerd ever since she skipped out on recess to read Harry Potter. When she's not reading, you'll find her sewing, baking or binge-watching her old favorite TV shows on Disney+.

    Tags: , , , , ,

    Leave a Reply

    XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

    Wait! Before You Leave…

    Sign up to receive the BookClubbish* newsletter, your one-stop hub for book news, recommendations and sweepstakes. Yes! I want to receive newsletters, special offers and other promotional emails from BookClubbish*

    *Harlequin Enterprises ULC (Bookclubbish) is located at Bay Adelaide Centre, East Tower, 22 Adelaide Street West, 41st Floor, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5H 4E3 and sends informational and promotional emails on behalf of itself and Harlequin Digital Sales Corporation. Subscribers can unsubscribe at any time.